SEXUALITY SUMMER SCHOOL 2018: QUEER LONGING PUBLIC EVENTS SCHEDULE

SSS logo

Advertisements

SSS 2018 Final 2We are very excited to announce our public events schedule for the 11th annual Sexuality Summer School (SSS) to which all are welcome!

Monday 21st May 
12-2pm 
Public Lecture: Scott Herring, ‘Queer Longing: Some Thoughts on Longevity’
Professor of English
Indiana University, Bloomington
Author of: Queering the Underworld (2007), Another Country: Queer Anti-Urbanism (2010), The Hoarders (2014)
Co-sponsored by CIDRAL
Venue: SALC Graduate School, The University of Manchester
Scott Herring:
https://english.indiana.edu/about/faculty/herring-scott.html

Monday 21st May
5.45-8.30pm 
Film Screening + Panel: Moonlight (Barry Jenkins, 2016) and DES!RE (Campbell X, 2017) 
Followed by a roundtable discussion, including Campbell X, Ajamu, Andrew Moor (MMU) and Jackie Stacey (UoM).
Venue: HOME (https://homemcr.org)

DES!RE clip: https://vimeo.com/220515108

Tuesday 22nd May
5.30-7pm 
Book Launch + Panel: Clinical Encounters in Sexuality: Psychoanalytic Practice and Queer Theory (2016)
With editors Noreen Giffney and Eve Watson, Ian Parker (UoM), Suryia Nayak (Salford) and Dan Anderson (Uclan)
Venue: SALC Graduate School, The University of Manchester

Noreen Giffney: https://www.ulster.ac.uk/staff/n-giffney

Eve Watson: https://www.iicp.ie/faculty/evewatson/

Tuesday 22nd May
8-9.30pm 
Performance Lecture: Dan Fishback, ‘On A Queer Day, You Can See Forever’
NY-based Performance Artist; Works include Rubble Rubble (2017), The Material World (2012) and thirtynothing (2011)
In collaboration with Superbia
Venue: 53two (For directions please visit: http://53two.com/c-o-n-t-a-c-t/4592807595)

Dan Fishback: http://www.danfishback.com/

Wednesday 23rd May
7-8.30pm 
Holly Hughes in conversation with Esther Newton on her forthcoming memoir: My Butch Career
Holly Hughes (Performance Artist and Professor) Esther Newton, Cultural Anthropologist (both from University of Michigan). Newton is author of: Mother Camp: Female Impersonators in America (1972); Cherry Grove, Fire Island: 60 Years in America’s First Gay and Lesbian Town (1993); Margaret Mead Made Me Gay: Personal Essays, Public Ideas (2000)
Venue: 53two (For directions please visit: http://53two.com/c-o-n-t-a-c-t/4592807595)

Excerpt from My Butch Career: https://clags.org/articles/excerpt-from-esther-newtons-my-butch-career/

Esther Newton: https://lsa.umich.edu/women/people/emeriti/enewt.html

Holly Hughes: https://stamps.umich.edu/people/detail/holly_hughes

Thursday 24th May
6-8.30pm 
Exhibition + Panel: ‘Dialogues on Sexuality and Longing in Chinese Contemporary Art’ with Shen Xin, Whiskey Chow, and Maizi Li
Collaboration with the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art
Venue: Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art, M4 1EU

CFCCA: http://www.cfcca.org.uk

Shen Xin: http://www.shenxin.info/

Whiskey Chow: https://www.rca.ac.uk/students/whiskey-chow/

Li Maizi: https://twitter.com/limaizi?lang=en

For inquiries, please email: sexualitysummerschool@gmail.com

Advertisements

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 829 other followers

Twitter @SSS_Manchester

%d bloggers like this: